Magic Trick Books Card Books The Royal Road to Card Magic
 

The Royal Road to Card Magic The Royal Road to Card Magic Hot

Send Inquiry
 The form could not be submitted
The Royal Road to Card Magic

Listing Info

Produced by
MSRP (USD)
11.95
Available to buy?
Would you like to confound your friends, amaze your acquaintances, amuse and dazzle crowds at parties and gatherings? Mastering a few card tricks will allow you to do all that and more. With the help of this book, anyone can develop a versatile repertoire of first-rate card tricks. In fact, mastery of just the first chapter will enable you to perform a half-dozen astounding and entertaining sleights of hand. The authors, both noted authorities on magic, present complete, easy-to-understand explanations of shuffles, flourishes, the glide, the glimpse, false shuffles and cuts, the pass, the classic force and many other techniques. These will enable card handlers to perform over 100 mind-boggling feats of card magic, including Thought Stealer, Gray's Spelling Trick, Do As I Do, Now You See It, Obliging Aces, Rapid Transit, Kangaroo Card, A Tipsy Trick and dozens of others. Illustrated with more than 120 clear line drawings that make the explanations easy to follow, this exciting introduction to card conjuring will enable even beginners to develop professional-level skill and the ability to perform tricks guaranteed to astound family and friends.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 5 user(s)

To write a review please register or log in.
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Explanations 
 
4.4  (5)
Effects 
 
4.6  (5)
Photos and/or Illustrations 
 
4.2  (5)
Usefulness 
 
4.8  (5)
Bang for Buck 
 
4.8  (5)
 
The Royal Road to Card Magic 2011-02-11 21:00:46 Prestige
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Explanations 
 
4.0
Effects 
 
5.0
Photos and/or Illustrations 
 
4.0
Usefulness 
 
5.0
Bang for Buck 
 
5.0
Prestige Reviewed by Prestige    February 11, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

I recently rented this book from my library and I'm trying to absorb everything it has to offer before I take it back. It has so much useful material that I could spend years on this thing and still only master half of it. This is a must have for anyone interested in the art of cad magic.

Review

Difficulty Level
Intermediate
Pros
Tons of moves, magic, and patter included.
Cons
Being a book it's a little difficult to understand some directions.
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
The Royal Road to Card Magic 2010-12-05 07:29:36 Liderc
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Explanations 
 
4.0
Effects 
 
4.0
Photos and/or Illustrations 
 
4.0
Usefulness 
 
4.0
Bang for Buck 
 
4.0
Liderc Reviewed by Liderc    December 05, 2010
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

I've said this in another review and I'll say it again. the new "latest and greatest" mentality of the younger generation of magicians tend to skip over the "old" Literature to go for the "newest moves"

this is the foundation from which those "new moves" came from

from basic sleights and effects to more intermediate ones this is an essential starting point for all card magicians.

i know there is a debate on "Royal Road Versus Card College" why not get both and be in the best of both worlds!

Review

Difficulty Level
Intermediate
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
The Royal Road to Card Magic 2010-07-27 20:45:23 andrewjspeirs
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Explanations 
 
4.0
Effects 
 
5.0
Photos and/or Illustrations 
 
4.0
Usefulness 
 
5.0
Bang for Buck 
 
5.0
andrewjspeirs Reviewed by andrewjspeirs    July 27, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

This is the book to get if interested in card magic. Any good card magician has read this book. It provides all the basic card slights, and some great tricks to accompany them. This book starts you on your way to great card manipulation.

Review

Difficulty Level
Easy
Pros
Is great for anyone starting in card magic. The book gets progressively harder, so you get better and better then further through the book you get.
Cons
Some of the descriptions are a little vague or confusing, might need to read a few times to understand correctly.
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
The Royal Road to Card Magic 2010-06-19 21:54:07 KiwiMagician
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Explanations 
 
5.0
Effects 
 
4.0
Photos and/or Illustrations 
 
4.0
Usefulness 
 
5.0
Bang for Buck 
 
5.0
KiwiMagician Reviewed by KiwiMagician    June 19, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

I kinda flicked this off and never considered getting it after I found out it was just for beginners which I was told but like all the dover books, they are useful for all levels. There is a lot of stuff in here that is defiantly not stuff that beginners will be mastering any time soon. A lot of sleights, then it will go through some effects that include that sleight so you don't just learn some sleight and never use it in a routine. The tricks included are okay, some could use a little improvement but it gives you ideas, so you can take those ideas and put the effects together and make your own routines. I highly recommend this to anyone into card magic, there is material in there for all levels.

Review

Difficulty Level
Easy
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
The Royal Road to Card Magic 2010-04-14 20:44:15 bobtheodd
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Explanations 
 
5.0
Effects 
 
5.0
Photos and/or Illustrations 
 
5.0
Usefulness 
 
5.0
Bang for Buck 
 
5.0
bobtheodd Reviewed by bobtheodd    April 14, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

An absolute must have! Possibly the greatest card magic book in existence! Low price, but packed full of sleights, effects, and manipulations. It will keep you busy for a very long time. Sleights range from easy stuff (peek, glide) to more complex moves (pass, double lift). It is my favorite book in my collection and will help any card performer, new or old.

Review

Difficulty Level
Intermediate
Pros
Great entry level effects, as well as advanced moves
Cons
Can be hard to keep the book open on the page you want
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review